New Blog from an old fan.

Welcome to the Hell in a Cell blog! I’m a pro wrestling fan dating back to the original Hulkamania era. Through the years of some great storytelling (Attitude Era) to dismal disappointments (the current PG era), I have steadfastly remained a fan and a champion of a sport I have enjoyed for a grand majority of my life. There’s something timeless about wrestling. I’m not sure what it exactly is that appeals to me about wrestling. It could be the soap opera storylines. Perhaps, what fascinates me is the perpetual story of good vs. evil. Or, it could just remind me of Saturday mornings with my Dad listening to David Crockett and Tony Schiavone call the latest dastardly deed that the Four Horsemen have committed. I can’t explain it, but there’s something within me that this oftentimes cartoonish world of pro wrestling resonates.

I’ve also become a fan of MMA. I used to watch UFC way back in the day when Royce Gracie and Ken Shamrock were still competing. I guess it was around the time Tank Abbott came around I lost interest in the UFC. However, once one of my heroes of the squared circle stepped into the Octagon, I started slowly but surely becoming a huge fan of the UFC again, but the entire world of MMA. A lot had changed between the era of Abbott and the era of Lesnar (even calling it the “era of Abbott is a bit misleading). These fighters now were highly trained and passionate about the art of fighting. It wasn’t boxing (which bores the hell out of me), it was something fresh and exciting.

At first, I was confused and often dismayed about ground game. But, over time, and through extensive studying of old fights (including watching fights from the Ortiz/Liddell era, the 100 greatest UFC fights, etc.) I grew to appreciate the finer points of MMA. It wasn’t just about two guys haphazardly flinging each other on the ground and hoping for the best. No, it was a smaller battle in a war that was going on. Sadly, most people watching aren’t sure of what’s going on in a fight and they tune out because it’s “boring” or there’s “no action”. Others are turned off by the violence. But, there is no other sport I have watched where in a millisecond things can change drastically in the blink of an eye.

It seems to me I’ve spoken enough for now. I hope you enjoy this blog. I don’t claim to be an expert in either pro wrestling or MMA. I’m just a guy who loves watching and offering some commentary on what I see.

This entry was posted in Pro Wrestling, UFC, WWE and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

